Coming Home for Christmas

Coming Home for Christmas

Author Jenny Hale

Narrator Teri Schnaubelt

Length 8 hours 45 minutes

Unabridged, Audiobook

Published by Bookcouture, released 16/12/14

Audible.com


Publishers' Summary


Coming Home for Christmas is a beautifully observed story about the importance of family, the magic of Christmas, and falling in love one snowflake at a time.

Fans of Trisha Ashley, Susan Wiggs, Carole Matthews and Susan Mallery - and anyone who loves the sound of carols and the twinkling of lights on the Christmas tree - will adore Jenny Hale's feel-good debut.

Christmas is a time for family... isn't it?

Allie Richfield loves Christmas, so when she lands a job as House Manager for the amazing Ashford Estate - which includes organizing the Marley family festivities - she is in her element. With a budget bigger than her life savings and a team of staff, how hard can it be?

As one-by-one she meets the Marleys, she’s about to find out...

Allie’s new boss, Robert, might be gorgeous, but he’s also colder than the snow outside and refuses to come home for Christmas. Robert’s playboy brother, Kip, flirts with her relentlessly; and his sister, Sloane, arrives home with baggage - both the divorce-kind and the Louis Vuitton kind. Their ninety-two year old grandmother, Pippa, spends her day grumbling at them all from her mobility scooter.

With Robert intending to sell Ashford, it’s the Marley’s last chance to create some happy memories in their family home - and Allie is determined to make it happen... even if it takes a little Christmas magic! With the festive spirit in full swing, she might even discover a little happiness of her own...

©2012 Bookouture (P)2014 Bookouture


My Review


Enjoyable up to a point, but I didn't really take to Allie, she is an ex nanny, with a degree in Early Education, but one who doesn't seem to be very bright.

Finding herself jobless and living back in her childhood home, after much thought (and the flip of a coin) she takes a job that her sister finds her, as a house manager.

The main characters are: Robert, the rich, reticent absentee home owner, who suffered psychological trauma in childhood. Robert is Allies' employer, he demands daily email contact with her. Kip; Kip is Roberts younger brother, indolent and charming, he knows how to play the ladies, including Allie. Grandma Pippa; she who once ruled the roost, now powerless, old and disabled, costs Robert a fortune to keep at home. Oh, and a sister, Sloane, who's kids come in handy for the plot.

Robert intrigues Allie, determined to evoke some sort of response from him, she tries to achieve this by shooting off a series of ever more ludicrous emails. Somehow, his odd responses causes her to believe she can heal him - or something - and during this process she falls deeply in love with him.

Meanwhile, whilst all this is going on, she encourages and maintains a highly flirtatious relationship with Kip. This is where my interest in the story evaporated completely, she allowed Kip to spend nights in her bed!! All the while being in love with another man! Just for kisses and cuddles you understand, followed by a good nights sleep? The shameless hussy! Unbelievable, (really) and very unlikely, or maybe our playboy was tuckered out. So it all went on .... And on.

Anyway ..........

Of course, there has to be a happy ever after ending, which, I admit was nice, unfortunately it took the creation of a series of ludicrous and tedious scenarios to achieve this.

Since writing this, I checked out a few Amazon reviews, seems I am greatly in the minority, it feels like they all read/listened to a different story to me.


Narrator


Teri Schnaubelt did a wonderful job, causing a tedious story to be more easily tolerated, she has a pleasant voice. Her excellent characterisations leave the listener in no doubt as to which character was holding forth. Who could ask for more? Her performance was tip top, I will certainly be interested in any work she puts her name to.

She is now one of my "TTB" narrators, that is one who can tip the balance in favour of an audiobook when I am undecided



This audiobook was gifted to me in return for this, my honest opinion.


 



 

© Audiobook and Book Reviews by Audiothing • THEME BY Maira Gall